Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Attitude Indicator/Radar advice request

Torchy

Join
Jun 12, 2019
Hi,

I am new to all this and on a steep learning curve!

Having had a near flyaway on my 2nd flight I am overly cautious to fly the AC. Have been absorbing all the info available ever since!

Having gone thro pre flight checks etc and Ready to Go (GPS), I notice the following; (Prior to take off).

1. Turning AC results in the red direction indicator on radar to reflect the same. (correct).​
2. The small white triangle remains at 12 o'clock on the attitude indicator. (correct).​
3. In the first photo, the Attitude Indicator shows the AC pointing directly at N, (I orientated the AC by hand to establish this), to ensure and check the AC was indeed pointing North. From the map Home position the AC is correctly pointing North.​
4. In the 2nd photo you can see I have orientated the AC 90 deg to the left to point East.​
This is where I get confused!

In both photos I was sitting in front of the AC with the controller and iPad pro both facing North.

Rotating the RC has no effect on the attitude indicator ie the N on the Attitude Indicator doesn't move and remains in the same position as in the photo.

Is this correct? I must admit I don't fully understand the Attitude Indicator and certainly fail to understand the small white triangle! But Im sure this isn't the correct behaviour.

I have performed IMU and compass calibration and also calibrated the RC sticks.

Also have Location services ON.

DJI GO 4
to share location when using.

Compass Calibration is turned ON in System Services. ( I have toggled this on/off to reset).

I also have Airplane mode
switched ON and wifi ON, Blue tooth OFF.

Not sure where the map has come from as I do not have an option to cache maps in th DJI GO 4 app.

I have also refreshed the AC firmware.

Where am I going wrong.

Would