Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Cooling the spark

Rbigham29

Join
Nov 9, 2018
Loc
Gwent
Hi all I'm new to this but have seen a couple of posts and you tube videos about cutting a hole in the top shell of the spark above the fan to aid cooling. Have anyone else done this and is their any benefit of doing it?

Hello from the Hoosier Heartland, Rbigham29.

If DJI wanted a hole there, it would be there.

The air flows through the front camera, the fan, then out of the side vents cooling stuff along the way.

If you want to try the more air idea, just pop the top shell off and fly topless for a while and see what happens.

Welcome to the Forum.:cool:

Reactions: smashitup11
That's true. I was just curious because the spark does run hot thought it might help. Thanks anyway for your reply

As Spark 427 said, when the Spark is in forward flight, the opening around the camera gimbal takes air in much like a hood scoop on a muscle car would and channels it into the Spark's body and to the cooling fan which then pushes the air out through the side vent openings.

The idea of cutting the hole in the cover is in my opinion is not going to provide any additional cooling unless you are just flying up and down all of the time. The cooling fan blades are designed to move air outward to the sides to push it out the vents and not to move air from top to bottom.

I had to laugh at the guy on YouTube that made a big deal out of that modification. Moral of this story is...

"If it ain't broke, don't fix it" ;) :D

Reactions: Rbigham29
I found that much of the heating was NOT coming from within the Spark but rather it was from the sun beating down on the aircraft.

So for $10 I swapped my blue Spark shell for a white one. It only took 5 minutes to remove the six tiny screws. The white color reflects much of the sunlight and it runs MUCH COOLER.

Got mine on Amazon:
https://amzn.to/2qFmudn