Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Flying indoor

AK19

Join
Aug 16, 2017
Good time of a day.

I am a new Spark pilot (less than a week).

Is there any way safely fly Spark indoor? Should I change any settings in the Spark set up.

One thing what I though my self, if I should disable (if possible) GPS and make Spark fly on visual reference only. By disabling GPS, I can prevent Spark picking up GPS signal automatically mid-flight and getting wrong reference with a consequence to flying to the wall or something else.

Does any one has regular experience of flying Spark indoor (just inside of house for fun)?

Any feedback are welcome.

Best Regards

Use prop guards and RC when possible. Need really smooth and small reactions on the stick.
It will not use GPS either OPTI or ATTI mode. OPTI will height sensor and bottom camera to keep position. It will switch from one to the other mode depending if the camera see a pattern below.
Use obstacles avoidance but remember it is only in front.
Also best is to train you flying in ATTI mode to learn keeping orientation outside but it is difficult to get that mode as you cannot force it through the app.

One thing to note when flying indoor is WIFI interference. I have 3 separate WIFI networks in my home, thus flying indoors is next to impossible for me

Reactions: His415
I flew indoors this week for the first time. When you takeoff and have the LEDs blinking green twice, you are good - if they stay yellow, be prepared that it will drift. I didnt block GPS.
When I flew above a table, bright and white, the LEDs changed to yellow and Spark wouldnt stay where it was. However, it was easy to maneuver it away from the table as the drift was quite slow.

Prop Guards will help alot ... just in case!