Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Going Fast... Yet Staying Smooth

Barboots

Join
Apr 20, 2021
Hi all, I am a beginner who is too lazy to search. I have a Spark question regarding my attempts to record boat based water-sports, like slalom skiing, wakeboarding and other towables.

To get the speed I need out of the drone, I have put it in Sport. I'm not sure if there is an alternative to get the forward speed??? Putting that aside for commentary, my problem is then that in Sport the stick is super-hectic for all other motion... so much so that the footage is unpleasant to watch. I've tried dialling the "speed" back in the (Android) app and am still not happy with the results. I also think I've lost forward speed, though haven't actually made note of the reported velocity.

Any suggestions on how to achieve smooth turning and camera tilt, whilst getting max speed out of the little fella would be much appreciated.

I live near an airport, so playing around requires me to go for a decent drive. Go easy on me [emoji6]

Cheers, Steve

Try switching off the obstacle avoidance sensors. It will give you about twice the speed of P-mode.
There is also a "Cinematic Mode" which gives you stable video at maximum speed but for that you need to download and install a moded app.

Hi Steve, welcome to the forum.

Practice and more practice is about it.
In sports mode things are a lot more difficult to get smooth and flowing.

One thing you could try, if you normally fly with thumbs on top of sticks . . . pinch them and see if that helps.

Gimbal, not sure if slowing it down in settings works in sports mode too.
If so, that's at least one movement you can slow up a lot and concentrate on flying more so.

Reactions: Barboots
Try switching off the obstacle avoidance sensors. It will give you about twice the speed of P-mode.