Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Hello from Knoxville, Tennessee

SPARK1

Join
Jan 13, 2019
Loc
Knoxville, Tn
Hello everyone,
I am new to drone flying and loving it so far. I recently purchased the Spark fly more package and i have a couple of questions.....First do you really need to use a OTG cable with the controller and second do you need a cellphone that is active for gps or is it built into the controller, Thanks for the help and hello everyone

Reactions: irvine
Welcome to the Forum!

This is the best place to get those sort of questions answered:

The OTG cable is optional. You can fly just fine without an OTG cable but sometimes the signal isn't as good. The wired connection between phone and RC using the OTG is less susceptible to interference. They are only about $10 so it's worth getting one if your signal is often sketchy. I've had good results and use it every time.

The remote control doesn't have a GPS antenna but the Spark its self has one.

Your phone doesn't need a GPS either -- for example plenty of pilots use the wifi only iPad Mini which doesn't have a GPS antenna.

Hope that info helps ;)

Hello from the Hoosier Heartland, SPARK1.

Welcome to the Forum.:cool:

Welcome from Wisconsin!

I have a OTG cable but have never had a need to use it. I use my old Samsung S6 as a flying phone, no longer active as a cell phone but works great for flying.

Welcome to the forum! :)

do you really need to use a OTG cable with the controller
Most people have no trouble flying without an OTG cable. If all works well for you without the cable, then you can fly without it.

o you need a cellphone that is active for gps or is it built into the controller
GPS is not built into the remote controller. There is a GPS receiver built into the Spark and that's where most of the GPS related data comes from.