Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Insurance for lost drone?

DroneAlone

Join
Dec 14, 2017
Have seen YouTube videos for the DJI refresh insurance which looks pretty good to a complete novice Pilot like me but...does anyone offer an insurance product for the loss of a drone I.e. losing it in deep water or similar cirumstance where the unit cannot be retrieved? If so how expensive is something like this and has anyone ever successfully claimed on one?

Have seen YouTube videos for the DJI refresh insurance which looks pretty good to a complete novice Pilot like me but...does anyone offer an insurance product for the loss of a drone I.e. losing it in deep water or similar cirumstance where the unit cannot be retrieved? If so how expensive is something like this and has anyone ever successfully claimed on one?

State Farm - about $60/year for a Spark. I have never filed a claim on my drone, but my experience in general with State Farm is that they pay. It's basically personal property insurance. For me it is worth it since it makes me less worried when I fly. It actually also covers the RC and 2 batteries (lose a drone, lose one battery also).

State Farm - about $60/year for a Spark. I have never filed a claim on my drone, but my experience in general with State Farm is that they pay. It's basically personal property insurance. For me it is worth it since it makes me less worried when I fly. It actually also covers the RC and 2 batteries (lose a drone, lose one battery also).
Thanks, that sounds pretty good, I'm based in the UK (which I should have mentioned! Doh) so not sure I could use them? I'll look them up just in case though, thanks for the info

I’m in the uk, and also looked into drone insurance. There were a couple of options six months ago, but one of the providers pulled out. The only one I’m aware of now is ICARUS - not sure how much cover they offer though.