Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

New 3D-printed iPad-holder

Paul215

Join
Nov 6, 2018
Loc
Germany
Hey Guys,

here I want to present my new tablet holder to you. After a lot research I haven't found the right holder that fits all my needs. The biggest problem was my iPad case. I use a Griffin Survivor case with fat rubber edges. With that my iPad becomes around 3 times thicker than orginal an all holders are to small. Another problem with a lot of holders is that the antennas pointing a little bit downwards because the tablet is in the way.

Only possibility for me was a DIY solution. So I started drawing and that was the result:

Tabelthalter.jpg

The black (orange) parts are 3D-printed (ABS). The X-shaped fixing fits perfect for my case. The silver parts are cheap aluminum tubes. The ones from the remote-plate to the lower holder are 10mm tubes. On the inside are 8mm tubes which are spring loaded and connected with the upper holder. So I have no visible springs or rubber bands and the iPad fits tight.

Here are the final pictures:

Springs inside the tubes
IMG_20190227_101546.jpg

Holder without iPad
IMG_20190227_121731.jpg
IMG_20190227_121836.jpg

Holder with mounted iPad
IMG_20190227_122116.jpg
Enough space for the thumbs and parabolic mirrors
IMG_20190227_122140.jpg

IMG_20190227_122208.jpg

Hope this gives some of you ideas or inspiration for your own solution if the purchasable holders come with to many compromises. :)

I keep telling the copilot that we need a 3D printer on our bucket list of electronics and she said, "Why? So we can make stuff we don't need?"

She's funny that way.

Are your plans uploaded to a site to be shared?
I know some of the pilots here have access to a 3D printer.

I like it when you can engineer something that works for you when you can't purchase what you want.

Thanks for sharing.