Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Calibrating the IMU and Compass

BushPusher

Join
Sep 7, 2019
I am new to the DJI Spark And have a few questions about Calibrating the IMU and compass ?
1. Should this be done outside or can it be done at the kitchen table making sure there is no metal to effect the calibration in either case.
2. Does the surface used to do the calibrations need to be level or just a stable flat surface that looks level .
3. I have seen and heard some say to do these calibrations every time you use the Spark, And can understand if you have traveled a distance to a new area but is that also true if you just go cross town or nearby like just a half mile away or so.
Your opinion on any of these questions would be very helpful
Thank You for your time Roger

Should this be done outside or can it be done at the kitchen table making sure there is no metal to effect the calibration in either case
For the compass, calibrate it while outdoors. Make sure the aircraft is about 5+ feet away from any magnetic metal objects. Assuming you have no magnetic metal objects on yourself while calibrating the compass, holding the aircraft up at shoulder level is usually enough to keep it away from any potential interference.

For the IMU, while this can be done outdoors, it's usually easiest to find a flat surface indoors. Magnetic metal objects will not negatively affect the IMU calibration, so you don't have to worry about that.

Does the surface used to do the calibrations need to be level or just a stable flat surface that looks level
Use a surface that looks flat (like a table) and make sure that surface cannot move (like a wobbly table) or become disturbed during the calibration process.

I have seen and heard some say to do these calibrations every time you use the Spark