Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Gimbal Issue?

cdouble

Join
Dec 31, 2018
a couple weeks ago when flying in some fairly windy conditions (10mph win with gusts to 20+) I received Gimbal Overload error. I stopped the flight and figured the gimbal was just unable to keep up with the demands and would be fine next time. The last two times I flew (winds 5-7mph) I noticed that the gimbal seems to move slowly the first time I toggle it to look straight down (I have the RC function key programmed to toggle Gimbal from horizontal to vertical). When I toggle it to vertical, it moves normally about halfway through it's range then slowly for the remainder of the switch. From that point forward for that flight, it moves quickly from horizontal to vertical and back. So I figured it is just a matter of "limbering up."

Now today I started playing with logfiles and the phantomhelp website. I exported the log into the Verbose CSV formal and loaded into Excel, and noted that the GIMBAL.isStuck property had values of TRUE and FALSE during that flight which piqued my curiosity. . I did receive a Gimbal Overload error toward end of that flight. Is this slow movement the first time it is cycled normal behavior? What about the info from the logfile?

I'm in Pennsylvania so flying this time of year the temperatures range from mid-20s to low-40s. Is this just to be expected in cooler temperatures, or is there something likely wrong with my Spark? Anything else I shoudl check or can do to diagnose this Attached is logfile..

Attachments

• DJIFlightRecord_2019-01-12_[14-08-01].txt
    559.2 KB · Views: 5
Basically what happened is you got hit by a gust as you indi.
The gimbal tries to stay level but the body of the Spark pushed on it with a gust.
That caused the overload.
If by chance you were using a clip-on filter, that would make it even more susceptible to overload.

By the way, do you have the correct logfile uploaded here?