Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Jurisdictional disputes over drones

I B Spectre

Join
Aug 16, 2019
I was perusing the MavicPilots forums and ran across an interesting thread talking about the ongoing disputes between the FAA and state/local entities over regulations. The first post in the thread titled FAA efforts aim to reduce juridictional disputes has a link to an interesting article. I hope I'm not in violation of a SparkPilots policy to link to a sister site. This month is supposed to be when the FAA will open a NPRM (Notice of Proposed Rule Making) during which time public stakeholders can share their ideas and concerns. We owe it to ourselves to participate with thoughtful, constructive responses.

Thank you for the post. My opinion, a very acceptable post. All drone pilots should learn as much as possible about their areas in which they fly. BTW: I’m really a hobbyist, but, I took the time and expense to get my 107 certification. If you want to learn and not incur the $150 test fee. You can buy for less than $20, study books and online practice tests.
This is what I used (2019v): Remote Pilot Test Prep 2020: Study & Prepare: Pass your test and know what is essential to safely operate an unmanned aircraft from the most trusted source in aviation training (Test Prep Series): ASA Test Prep Board: 9781619547964: Amazon.com: Books

This article FAA Efforts Aim to Reduce Drone Jurisdictional Disputes It is a good read and the laws can pertain to all drones flown by hobbyists and 107 pilots.
Example: You are a hobbyist flying a smal UAS less than .55 lbs / 250 grams. A police officer or state park ranger approaches you and asks/tells you to land the drone. You might be flying legally and the officer may be wrong. You can still have a heap of inconvenience and possible legal cost to prove you are flying legally.