Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

National trust and the Lake District... confused?

Hornet863

Join
Feb 15, 2019
Ok
I am new to flying a drone (I am a licenced private pilot for light aircraft however) and I am confused re flying drones in the Lake District. I recently enquired with the national trust and the Lake District.org about flying a drone safely and sensibly in the Lake District and got a ambiguous response from the Lake District authority and a terse response from the NT.
What I have discovered is pretty much the below...

Scenario 1
I can drive in the Lake District in a noisy but car or motorbike, park in a public car park. Strap a go pro to my chest run or walk through national trust land filming as I go, return to my vehicle open the windows and crank up the music loud and drive home.
Scenario 2
I can quietly walk to the same area find an out of the way little spot away from people, structures and animals and safely fly a drone for 20 minutes or so taking a few nice pictures of the scenery and then quietly walk home.
Or
Scenario 3
I fly a small but again noisy plane over the Lake District in allowed airspace etc... taking pictures as I go and can even circle the area over NT land for as long as fuel allows etc...even if there are a load of people below me but.....

Only one of the above is deemed a nuisance and dangerous and not allowed on or over National trust land and the others are allowed in the eyes of the national trust....hmmmm

In Yellowstone National Park folks can ride open pipe Harleys by the thousands each summer, but quieter snowmobiles are severely restricted in winter. Drones are completely forbidden. Politics is all that matters.