Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Advice on flying indoor around machinery

FlyingAce574

Join
Mar 3, 2019
Hey everyone,

I’m a relatively new drone pilot. I just received my Spark about a month ago and I’ve become pretty comfortable (haven’t tried anything crazy, just flying at relatively underwhelming speeds and heights until I feel more confident.)

I eventually want to use my drone at work. I work at a manufacturing company that builds some pretty state-of-the-art, automated welding machines for the aerospace industry. These machines are massive. That’s where the drone comes in: I want to be able to fly it over the machines to get a sense of their size and capabilities for marketing purposes.

Any advice for someone flying indoors in this type of setting? Large, warehouse-type building. Plenty of room around and above each machine.

Any modes/settings I should activate? I would ideally like to avoid a collision with a million dollar machine :0)

Thanks!

I am not an expert, but the first thing I would check is how modes, etc function in the building by doing testing before actually stating your photo flight.

You''ll want to do lots of test flights in open areas indoor to get used to the aircraft.

Flying inside "can" create odd turbulence and you'll blow dust/debris around that you don't ever see otherwise.

Also keep in mind the "flying for your employer" will be considered non-Hobby so get your Part 107 so you're on the good side of things.

Roof will likely block GPS satellite signal so you'll be in ATTI mode. Steel beams or metal roof in typical warehouse will likely give magnetic interference or compass error. Re-bar in concrete floor often a problem preventing take off so practice palm launch. The machines themselves could interfere since they probably contain ferrous metals. Any wifi or Bluetooth in the building could give RF interference too.