Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

DJI Go 2.4.8 and offline maps, ios versus Android

Buckybuck

Join
Mar 2, 2018
Loc
Ohio
Relative newbie here. As a matter of fact, I haven’t even flown my Spark yet; it’s been raining ever since I got everything connected. But I’m soooo confused/leery about offline/cached maps that I’m willing to get smacked with the “Search box is your friend” paddle anyway.

I have a wifi-only iPad Air 2 and several Android phones. All are running the latest DJI Go 4.2.8.

I get the impression that whether or not to use Airplane mode is personal preference. Myself, I think I’d prefer to fly in Airplane mode (my Android phones allow wifi while in Airplane mode), since I get gobsmacked and mess everything up even when I’m doing something simple like listening to music on my phone when a phone call comes in. I fret what could happen if a call comes in while my Spark is a couple of hundred feet in the air.

Also, one of the geographic locations where I anticipate flying the Spark has terrible, spotty cell coverage, so I had been planning all along to use offline maps when there. That is, until I found out that DJI did away with the ability to download maps in recent DJI Go versions.

I did an experiment today and used the DJI Go app's Enter the Camera View mode to cache maps on my iPad and Android devices using my home wifi, and then drove to a nearby park. It was still raining, but I went to a covered bench, turned the Spark on, connected to it and waited until a bunch of satellites showed up, and kinda fantasized about what it would be like to actually fly it. Alas, on the iPad, the result on DJI Go was that the map display was empty. But there were maps on the Android devices.