Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Question about OTG and getting "no signal"

Jim Nielsen

Join
Apr 11, 2018
Loc
Omaha, NE
I'm still fairly new at this...I was incredibly confident (and a bit reckless) flying my spark until one day it decided to lose GPS, disconnect, and fly off on it's own. Luckily I recovered it (thanks to a good Samaritan!)

Now I'm scared every time I send her up.

I'm using the latest version of dji go 4 and and OTG cable.

I understand that the spark talks to the remote via WiFi... but with the otg cable, I should have a direct connection from the RC to the phone right? Why would I keep getting "no signal" randomly? I can still fly the spark (since it's usually still in sight when it happens). So I know that the drone and RC are talking...why would the OTG allow the no signal? Do I possibly have a bad cable? (I've tried a couple). I'm using an older LG Tribute as a dedicated (no cell service and WiFi and Bluetooth are off) device for the drone. It is quite laggy at times and I tend to pucker quite a bit when it stops updating the screen for more than a second.
I used to have a Galaxy S6 and it worked pretty good...but I upgraded to a S9+ and it definitely is not working.. it randomly drops out of the app while I'm flying... (everything is still working but the app is gone) and that's just not cool. So until I find another S6 cheap (or a cheap iPhone) I'm stuck with the LG.

The signal tends to come back... but do I need to worry if it doesn't? As long as I can still fly, the drone I should be fine right? I'm, of course, assuming that if it happens I should bring it right down just in case... (oh and this is all only around a couple hundred feet up most of the time)