Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Bad take off

Kevmiller1488

Join
May 8, 2019
Loc
Wisconsin
Wanted to try my new iPad mini with the Spark, but it’s extremely windy so I was just going to launch in my hotel room(I’m traveling for work). I’ve done this before several times and never had an issue. So I Turned on the controller, turned on the aircraft, started DJI GO4, and did the auto takeoff option. Instead of hovering at 4 feet, it kept right on going and slammed in to the ceiling. ??? I’m not experienced enough to know what went wrong. What would I look for in the flight logs?

Flying indoors is never a good idea, especially with automatic features. With no GPS reception, how is the Spark supposed to know at what altitude it is. Check page #48 on the Spark's manual. It says - Use auto takeoff only if the Aircraft Status indicators are blinking green (meaning P-mode).

Spark takeoff landing.JPG

The best way to take off indoors is to use the combination stick command on the RC and throttle up with extreme caution.

Last edited:
Reactions: Kevmiller1488
Sticks down and in diagonally. Gentle push forward on left stick! Indoors, you should always use prop guards. That said, I would avoid flying indoors completely until you are a really seasoned flyer. And we all leave that cover on once in a while. (smacks self in forehead!) Its good to have that pre-flight checklist handy to avoid such things!

Like northwood said...I always use manual start and takeoff indoors (and always with prop guards).

2 of the props were damaged. I have plenty of replacements.

Here's my spare prop storage, fashioned from a cassette case.

Screenshot_20180724-084309_Gallery.jpg

As Northwood Mediaworks and ol' Sparky has stated, prop guards are a must, when flying indoors and always a manual launch.

Make sure the room(s) are well lit and break up the floor pattern with towels or whatever when on the road in a hotel room.