Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

My first flight with my new DJI Spark (or any drone)

I am a former military pilot and disabled veteran. I started flying toy drones to fill the void left by not flying any more. I have been flying mostly toy drones. At 64 I have been reluctant to fly my Spark. Your video has given me confidence that I can do it. Thanks. Great first flight.

Reactions: mano and alditenen
I am a former military pilot and disabled veteran. I started flying toy drones to fill the void left by not flying any more. I have been flying mostly toy drones. At 64 I have been reluctant to fly my Spark. Your video has given me confidence that I can do it. Thanks. Great first flight.

Interesting. I’m retired military also and a former private pilot. My ultimate goal is flying FPV with a drone, doing things I could never safely do with a piloted aircraft.

Fly your Spark.

Last edited:
Reactions: mano
I never had a remote in my hand as a youngster so before so before i recieved my spark I bought a toy drone to practice it lasted almost two days I crashed every flight till it cound,t get up very good ,so i repaired and it took off still don,t know where or how far it went ,so i was nervous about flying the spark , talk about relief took off and found out it does take care of itself and was easy there was no comparision, lol I,m a 62 year old retired bullrider

Scary isn't it, I hit RTH on my 1st flight and it shot up 400ft, I lost sight of it, then 2 mins later it landed next to me, phew.
I did the same thing with my Spark. Except I had mine set for only 30 meters. But when it first started to climb, I panicked for a second thinking it was going to be a flyaway until a few seconds later when I remembered the RTH altitude setting. I also breathed a sigh of relief when it started coming straight down.

Reactions: Moofer