Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Night flying.

Steve Kennedy

Join
Aug 20, 2018
I don't go wandering at night, just an up, take some photos and back down and don't go too high, always in clear sight. I notice that the Spark does tend to wander on its own when it's dark as opposed to staying in place when it's daylight. I watch it and manually keep it in place. The question is; Is there a visual aspect of navigational stability coupled with GPS? It seems that without light, the wandering begins and GPS is only so good. Any insights?

I'm not an expert, but have done many night flights. When doing a return to home, GPS home point gets the Spark to the general location (within a few feet), and then the camera takes over to land the craft, recognizing the ground objects from where it took off from and initiates the "precision" landing. If the camera only see's complete darkness, then there will not be a precision landing and location of the drone can vary and instability when landing (like a hard landing) can take place. If you put a little light on where you take off from and land at, the camera will bring the drone in much closer to the spot and you will not have an uncontrolled hard landing. If you ever try flying the drone indoors in Atti mode, the bottom camera is what keeps the drone stable in flight. If the floor or carpet is exactly the same everywhere - I find the drone changes position and floats aimlessly if I don't take over with the controller.

Reactions: Chips