Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Return to home!!

Brianc

Join
Jul 2, 2017
Loc
Adelaide, South Australia
Hi everyone.
I am a 71yr old Spark pilot and because of poor distance perception I rely strongly on the RTH function to bring the aircraft back to me.
I have been panicking after all the reports of failed or inaccurate FTH.
Is there someone out there where the function works perfectly for them?
At present my spark returns up to 3-4 metres away, hovers for a while and then asks if I want to land!
I am really nervous of flying unless I am only a few meters away and can back up to where I started.. I have also started to use the direction indicator so that might help.
Any comments or feedback would be welcome - how many other Spark pilots have the same problem and why does it happen - firmware problem,?

Cheers
Brian

I usually bring it back using screen image and telemetry, including the "radar" screen then when within 30 or 40' I bring it to a hover within a few feet looking at it. I don't have issue with depth perception but I find it easier to turn it around facing away from me and back it to a hover point where I can't reach it and flip it down

I usually bring it back using screen image and telemetry, including the "radar" screen then when within 30 or 40' I bring it to a hover within a few feet looking at it. I don't have issue with depth perception but I find it easier to turn it around facing away from me and back it to a hover point where I can't reach it and flip it down

I have initiated RTH plenty of times. It works without a hitch. It will even engage RTH when signal is lost. In have it return, get to it's position, descend, and when just a few feet off the ground, it will ask me if I want to land or not.

Thanks for your reply.. Does RTH work properly for you?