Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Spark landing 8-12 feet away?

RookieFlyer

Join
Aug 8, 2020
Hi fellow fliers..I am new to this, and spark flies great, but anytime I press RTH the spark is landing about 10 feet away from takeoff.Just wondering if something is wrong? TIA

Hello from the Hoosier Heartland RookieFlyer.

I haven't used the RTH feature much and it can be tricky in the way it works due to distance, battery, etc.

Here's a flow chart that may help.

20190122_100811.png

I hand launch and land the Spark myself with the remote.

There is a camera on the bottom of the Spark that is part of the VPS to help map the territory when it launches.

I've read that after the Home Point has been updated, launch the Spark straight up and hover for a couple of seconds around 20 feet.

The Spark will "see" and memorize its landing area to help with a smart RTH scenario.

It should land pretty close from where it was launched.

The use of a landing pad may help.

Good luck and welcome to the Forum. :cool:

Last edited:
Wow! Thanks for all that info spark 317, and yes from now on when I launch it I will let it go straight up and stay for a few seconds so it can see its homepoint.

Reactions: Spark 317
Welcome too from me. Just a simple thought, you’re not wandering away from your TO point without realising it? Easily done as you admire it’s flying capabilities.

Hi fellow fliers..I am new to this, and spark flies great, but anytime I press RTH the spark is landing about 10 feet away from takeoff. Just wondering if something is wrong? TIA
I launch from a small pad that I bring with me . When I a hovering over it about ten feet I mark the rth spot and take a picture of the pad. This appears to improves landing accuracy

Yes I am maybe walking like about 15 feet from its takeoff point, does that matter?