Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Spark lost connection and crashed (gently)

arranH

Join
Jan 8, 2018
Hi

I'm a newbie to the forum, so sorry if this is covered before, however its more checking for the future, and a little reassurance I'm looking for.

Just as a note, I have a Mavic Pro which has been the most reliable of drones with the only issue sometimes being a switch to ATTI but never a complete loss.

I bought a spark for my son and took it for a flight over the weekend which went well, although I found it a little twitchy and nervous which I put down to being used to the Mavic which is of course larger.

Getting home I checked the calibration and thought I'd just have a little tripod test mode in the house. (yes this is where it ALWAYS goes wrong LOL)

All was good smooth control and moved around the house without a hitch until it just lost connection moving slowly but inexorably towards a wall at a snails pace... where the sensors which had worked no problem at all obviously now did not..

A gentle almost soft caress and it dropped backwards to the ground.

I didnt even jump for it, as I though the sensors would work.

Its not wrecked as it just dropped, however I checked the alignment and the left rear prop position is definitely off now. All works just my guess is if I turn it on, it will just reverse.

I have the refresh package (although this sounds like it may be fun to get done). However my question is more towards is this something I can expect fromm the spark. I thought it would be useful as it is so small for more indoor activity, but given its complete loss of control.. I'm not so sure.

The spark is less than a week old, one flight and the phone was Iphone 6 linked through the remote (all updated and claibrated etc)

Thanks in advance..

I thought it would be useful as it is so small for more indoor activity, but given its complete loss of control.. I'm not so sure.