Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

GPS bug?

How can a reset of week number, affect GPS positioning system?

One more conspiracy theory, like that of y2k.

LOL. I worked in Healthcare IT (actually still do, but as a consultant) for a large New England hospital during the 90s and early 00s. We had dozens of developers who spent literally years combing through code and fixing potential Y2K issues. The fact that it was such a non-event had everything to do with the diligence most businesses applied to making sure things went without incident.

Calling it a "conspiracy theory" is an insult to the millions of man hours invested in making sure the rollover went smoothly.

Hey, to quote a paragraph in this article... (Some GPS receivers may malfunction on or after April 6 | ZDNet)

While most modern GPS receivers shouldn't be affected by this (devices that conform to IS-GPS-200 and provides UTC will be fine), testing carried out by the US Department for Homeland Security (DHS) showed that there is a possibility that some will interpret this rollover as the date shifting back to January 6, 1980, or possibly some other incorrect date.

So for Spark users this is likely a non event, but I have a few really old GPS units, it will be fun to see how they deal with April 6.

I was part of a Y2K IT preparedness team back in the day, it was grueling, due-diligence and all that... so we were quite relieved when the sky did not fall... but it was a LOT of work.

Reactions: Dodge DeBoulet