Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Hi From Eureka, MO

TimH

Join
Aug 22, 2019
Loc
Eureka, MO
Just got a Spark Fly More for my birthday. Love it so far, just having problems with the RC connecting to the Spark whenever I start it up. I have to go thru the procedure to link the RC and Spark everytime, and it seems my Spark is always asking for compass calibration.

Hello from the Hoosier Heartland, TimH.

Happy birthday and welcome to the Forum. ?

Welcome. I'm new to this myself, but I've managed to work through successfully so far. Are you able to link from the Go 4 on your phone to the Spark via WiFi so you attempt the compass calibration?

Yes, I have tried it with just the phone, it calibrates. Do a flight, come back and change battery, then get the compass error again. It will calibrate every time, just doesn't keep calibration.

Welcome and hope you have as much fun as most of us do together with safe flying. Had a look at Eureka MO. I’m in the UK in Bristol. Think you are just SW of St Louis, do I have that right?

Yes, I have tried it with just the phone, it calibrates. Do a flight, come back and change battery, then get the compass error again. It will calibrate every time, just doesn't keep calibration.
This is probably a long shot, but I Googled the issue and it appears across other DJI platforms. I presume you're careful not to calibrate the compass anywhere close to ferrous metals, including concrete (likely has rebar), so let's try something simple. Remove your SD card and see if it still does it. I have no idea what the relationship between the compass system and the SD could be, but some people report the problem went away after removal. Others said reinstalling firmware did the trick. These may be time consuming, but they're cheap and relatively easy to try. Let us know how it goes.

Sounds like you are calibrating near metal... Like I B Spectre stated...

Here's how I calibrate.