Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Litchi Waypoint Mission with Gimbal on "POI Focus" : stutters

webvan

Join
Jul 22, 2017
This is an extract from a Litchi Waypoint Mission using POI Focus tilt and it's not very pretty...
Am I doing something wrong or is the "stuttering" (left/right shake) visible below especially in the beginning due to the Spark having only a two-axis gimbal or to the way Litchi does things ? Would there be any such stuttering on an Air or an MP ?
Thanks

Last edited:
I am just learning the ins and outs of Litchi, but safe to say the stutter could be attributed to a few different factors. I found that when flying curves its less "analog" than i would like, there are tiny incremental course adjustments going on. Then there's the bitrate at which the Spark is capable of capturing data, much lower than its larger cousins. And also, your video editor (that may not be a factor in your example) will potentially add some jitter if not used correctly. All of this applies to flying curves and yawing in Go4 also. One thing you can do to correct this is to use some stabilization in your editor. It will crop your FOV a little, but will improve the smoothness. Another suggestion, slow your flight down to a crawl, then speed it up in the editor later. This will allow for better data capture. The 2 axis gimbal does not help. I've seen Air and MP output that in some hands does stutter too... and they are three axis with higher bitrate / framerate capture. And wind can also be a factor.

Here's my first Litchi waypoint mission, I went super slow, used stabilization .... the sped up. I did not do it this time, but I often change to 59.94FPS and use FinalCut's interpolation to smooth things out too.

And my flight yesterday (first three minutes or so are waypoint mission) (real time, no stablization)

The spark's best strengths are ascend, straight ahead/reverse flight and sideways flight. I am saving up for a MP:cool: