Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Not one fly away event.

heinzpilot

Join
Feb 28, 2019
Hello. I don't post here much, just read the posts. However I decided to post a comment related to Spark fly aways. I have been flying a Mavic pro for several years with no issues. About 8 months ago I baught a Spark just to fly for fun. I always follow a set of pre-flight guidelines before I fly. Check the props, secure the battery, use a OGT cable with my iPad mini, check the signal, ect. By following these procedures I have not had one issue. I have been very happy with the Spark. I have taken it many places around the country. I have a PArt 107 certificate and use Airmap for my authorizations when flying in airspace that requires it. It seems like there are many fly-away stories posted here and I always wonder why there are so many. But my experience has been very good overall with my Spark. A ver fun little drone. Happy Flying.

I can agree with you I always do my pre flight and make sure the IMU and sensors are good. Wait for GPS lock then take off. I only have one issue during a flight I lost GPS signal and had to flight it back using VLS and the map on the controller. But since have discover that that spot is a dead zone for all gps devices so now it use it for training to keep my flying skills up to par so not to relie on the drone to keep control.

Same here. The pre-flight checklist is essential. Especially with respect to the environment in which you choose to fly. Weather/Wind conditions are far more risky for the spark compared to the larger Mavics. As I like to say, don't throw caution to the wind!

I think 98% of fly-aways are avoidable human error situations. I tend to fly in rural areas, so perhaps I am safer than those trying in urban wifi jungles.

Yes, agree. I have had one near miss. Possibly human error as well.