Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Scary flight experience

Antiboost

Join
Jul 29, 2021
Just lately ive been experiencing heavy yaw pitches in flight. Even in normal mode. After some advice I checked gimbal which works perfectly in hand. Reset IMU always calibrate compass etc. I had 11 gps sats. Wind was mild at takeoff. Now UAV FORECAST is bad with 28mph gusts Forecast! Anyway I flew today and thought I was going to loose it, I had a crash still. I generally return with RTH for a direct path back as I’m still a novice. I received wind warnings so hit RTH, planning to take control again later, and descend nearer. I fly from a very high point into a low area.. Anyway Sparky decided in a former life he was a drunken crab and started swinging wildly as you can see in the video. At times during RTH it was facing backwards. I tried cancelling the RTH to descend into stiller air, which was unresponsive and failed repeatedly. After a few minutes it was apparent it was getting closer under RTH although still drunken, and it settled down at a height of 54M. It hung over the house, and wouldn’t decent under RTH or accept manual intervention. I turned off the controller as the drone battery had gone low during the crabbing and hover.I managed to regain some control using the controller but maybe me, or it’s drunken behaviour it crashed after descending with minimal damage. Any advice apart from descend before RTH in wind, I recent learned that from YouTube and the drowned Mini 2 video.

Maybe a combination of strong winds and incorrect RTH? Did the RTH set correctly before gaining altitude at the beginning of your flight? Did you get any error messages?

Maybe a combination of strong winds and incorrect RTH? Did the RTH set correctly before gaining altitude at the beginning of your flight? Did you get any error messages?
Thanks for your suggestions. The RTH was correct I took off a few metres from where I crashed it.