Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Anxiety while flying the bird

Hamid

Join
Dec 29, 2017
The few first flights were cool experiences, no stress no anxiousness!
After a near crash and a few drift-aways now it takes a lot of efforts to force myself to go and fly the drone! and I don't dare to send the air craft so far or over water or.. etc,
It is now just too stressful and therefore cannot enjoy it any more! is there anyone experienced the same and passed over it? How?

Practice.
Baby steps.
Then more practice.
And a little further. A little higher.
...And you guessed it, more practice. Like 10 minutes a day? just a battery duration....

And enjoy yourself!

In the end, it's just a toy...

Reactions: Sparky007
I'm fairly new to drones (got a Karma in early February, just got a Spark three weeks back) and here's the one thing I've learned - at some point, your drone is going to crash and / or fly away without your control and it's either a total loss or at the least a costly repair. It's just the nature of these things.

I get the anxiety though as I'll never fly my Karma again. I'm actually waiting on a replacement from GoPro and once I get it, I'll be selling it. I crashed it all the way back on March 10th (it's a long story but never buy a Karma lol)

I've had one really scary disconnect with my Spark where I was flying over water and thought it had gone into the lake. The screen went black and I was disconnected. Turns out it lost line of sight to the controller, there was a water fountain between the controller and the drone, but it ascended to a safe altitude and then flew right back to my home point.

I think you can take precautions (calibrate the compass before every flight, make sure you have a good GPS connection prior to take off) but things can and will happen beyond your control.

Reactions: MannyCAM2001