Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Spark as a very first drone?

BluePixel

Join
Aug 15, 2017
Loc
O-H-I-O
(Sorry for double post. Posted this in General Discussions originally, but i think it might be better here.)

Complete newbie here. Been thinking to get one for a few months now.
Was considering 3dr Solo, Parrot Bebop2.
But after spending few weeks here, decided to go with Spark.
I am thinking to go with fly more package.
So, is it good idea for the first drone?
Thanks.

The Spark will make an excellent first drone.
FM combo is a great deal. Remote control a must. I would never try to fly it using phone as a controller.
Shoots some surprisingly good pictures also. You won't get that from a Parrot.

Reactions: sassafras
I am probably a day ahead of you. My Spark arrived yesterday. I wanted a drone that I could use for informal pictures and videos. I did not want anything complex that required immense effort to fly and therefore never use for its original purpose. It was a little disappointing on opening it to spend half a day updating the software and getting everything linked and stable. This is because you have to switch the WiFi between networks on a number of occasions to complete the process.

However with this out of the way I managed to fly it last night (in beginners mode) and achieved a high level of control (albeit at a slow speed) and even in this restricted mode found I could concentrate on the pictures/video as the flying was stable and nicely automated. I have the Fly More Combo.

Now feeling a lot happier with my choice after flying it. Mid-afternoon yesterday with it going flat during updating and getting "No Network" messages (because the app cannot access the Internet when connected to the controller) I was getting very frustrated with it as the "ideal for beginners" advertising message was wearing a bit thin,