Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Third party software?

bdee1

Join
Jul 26, 2018
Hi everyone. I have been doing a little reading and have found that some people are using third party apps (instead of dji go app) to fly their drone. I have heard about litchi, and i knwo that at least one other exists.

I am interested in hearing some feedback from others who are using third party apps. It sounds like one of the big draws to litchi is the ability to use waypoints. Are there any other big advantages, and if so what are they and what is the use case?

I actually really like to dji go app so far but I am very new to this (only had my spark for a few weeks), so I just want to make sure i understand all the available options.

Litchi is really growing on me, but it still go back occasionally to DJIGO. You are right, the big plus to Litchi is the waypoint but also the Orbit mode. I wanted a subscription to AirData and the discount I got for buying Litchi paid for the app itself. You can now select a wifi channel in Litchi, but it does not have the spectrum analyzer that DJI has. Also I find the ability to view pictures or video in Litchi very limited. All in all...was it worth $23....yep it sure was.

Airdata, which makes Litchi is in the software business. Software is their main business, not a sideline. Litchi seems to do everything I want it to do. I really like not having to clear message windows for: firmware updates/software updates/heliport at the hospital 3 miles away EVERY TIME I want to fly. I have been using Litchi for about a month and don't see any reason I would ever use anything else.