Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!
Sign up

Spark disconnected from controller

Joined
May 4, 2018
Messages
10
Likes
6
Age
48
#1
I updated dji go4 app to 4.2.20 on my android phone and on my first flight I had my spark 120mts high and 180mts away from the controller when it decided to disconnect from the controller. Nothing I tried would allow the drone to reconnect. Thankfully the RTH function allowed it to come back. I then flew the spark again using two batteries with a different android phone using the old go4 app and had no issues when the drone was 120mts high and 800mts away from the controller. Obviously there is a problem with the update. Interested if anyone else has experienced the same problem
 

Haggi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
182
Likes
90
Location
Norway
#2
Did you changed your "insecure wifi password" before the flight?
I did, and experienced same as you. Saved by RTH, RC never reconnected.
I'm currently back on 4.1.15... flawless flying

Screenshot_20180613-172203_Samsung Internet.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 2, 2018
Messages
18
Likes
3
Location
Ohio
#3
Same experience, plus my Spark now ignores the Record button and decides to start and stop recording whenever the hell it feels like it. I've also been prompted to re-enter my new password a couple of times. Makes no difference whether I'm connected to the controller by wifi or OTG cable.

I don't trust my Spark with the latest Android update, and that's a bad feeling.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
1
Likes
0
Age
47
#5
I updated dji go4 app to 4.2.20 on my android phone and on my first flight I had my spark 120mts high and 180mts away from the controller when it decided to disconnect from the controller. Nothing I tried would allow the drone to reconnect. Thankfully the RTH function allowed it to come back. I then flew the spark again using two batteries with a different android phone using the old go4 app and had no issues when the drone was 120mts high and 800mts away from the controller. Obviously there is a problem with the update. Interested if anyone else has experienced the same problem
I have lost two drones after that the spark first went in Atti mode and then lost contact. The spark did not returned to homepoint: (
 

notime

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2017
Messages
214
Likes
26
Age
61
#6
I updated dji go4 app to 4.2.20 on my android phone and on my first flight I had my spark 120mts high and 180mts away from the controller when it decided to disconnect from the controller. Nothing I tried would allow the drone to reconnect. Thankfully the RTH function allowed it to come back. I then flew the spark again using two batteries with a different android phone using the old go4 app and had no issues when the drone was 120mts high and 800mts away from the controller. Obviously there is a problem with the update. Interested if anyone else has experienced the same problem
I flew 3 batteries with no issues, with the exception of 2 instances where battery had shown N/A, on my android and the 4.1.22 update.

Then first flight after recharge remote lost connection and Returned home.

Didnt get the popup that offers option to cancel RTH.
 

IanSR

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
70
Likes
21
Age
72
#7
Did you changed your "insecure wifi password" before the flight?
I did, and experienced same as you. Saved by RTH, RC never reconnected.
I'm currently back on 4.1.5... flawless flying

View attachment 5310
4.1.5 or 4.1.15?

I've not ventured past 4.1.15 or mod 2 because of the horror stories I've heard, do you get sphere mode with 4.1,5?

Edit: actually I see it from the screenshot - what is that screenshot from?
 

Haggi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
182
Likes
90
Location
Norway
#8
4.1.5 or 4.1.15?

I've not ventured past 4.1.15 or mod 2 because of the horror stories I've heard, do you get sphere mode with 4.1,5?

Edit: actually I see it from the screenshot - what is that screenshot from?
4.1.15 sure (post edited)
Sorry for the confusion
 

notime

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2017
Messages
214
Likes
26
Age
61
#9
Android and 4.1.22 Could it be the app?

Set RTH to 150 ft, 13 sats, 97% batt. Lift off, got notice RTH point recorded 328 ft. Thought weird.

6 minutes into flight lost remote control. Then green upper right corner 'In flght GPS' changed to 'GoHome'.

No advanced voice warning from go4 app regarding the initiation of RTH.

Thoughts or past experience anyone? Thanks in advance.
 

Haggi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
182
Likes
90
Location
Norway
#10
Android and 4.1.22 Could it be the app?

Set RTH to 150 ft, 13 sats, 97% batt. Lift off, got notice RTH point recorded 328 ft. Thought weird.

6 minutes into flight lost remote control. Then green upper right corner 'In flght GPS' changed to 'GoHome'.

No advanced voice warning from go4 app regarding the initiation of RTH.

Thoughts or past experience anyone? Thanks in advance.
No helpful answer, but i think RTH height is set in meters...regardless of metric or imperial setup?
 

notime

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2017
Messages
214
Likes
26
Age
61
#11
Forgot to mention. After spark reach my preselected 150 ft RTH altitude, the altitude counter read 150 ft. The RTH alert said 328 ft.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
16
Likes
11
Age
47
#12
Yesterday, I used DJI Go 4 4.1.22 on an android Redmi Note 4 mobile and sent the spark straight up 150m high. It disconnected and reconnected twice. I was on the edge. Never happened before. I usually put the phone on airplane mode but this time I forgot. On top of it, the internet data was on.

Later I used mod version of GO 4 4.1.15 and also Red Waypoint without any problem
 

Bob Johnston

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 2, 2018
Messages
52
Likes
11
Age
71
#13
Yesterday, I used DJI Go 4 4.1.22 on an android Redmi Note 4 mobile and sent the spark straight up 150m high. It disconnected and reconnected twice. I was on the edge. Never happened before. I usually put the phone on airplane mode but this time I forgot. On top of it, the internet data was on.

Later I used mod version of GO 4 4.1.15 and also Red Waypoint without any problem
Straight up will cause poor to no reception unless antenna flats are pointed directly at ac. Keeping ac in front of you at reasonable distance will facilitate good rc reception. Just a thought may be the issue.
 

IanSR

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
70
Likes
21
Age
72
#14
Assuming he had unfolded the antenna (I've seen people flying with them folded back down) but it's more than likely he used the .22 version of DJIGO, I wouldn't use that version if DJI paid me, the only time I ever did the dam thing disconnected while hovering in the garden at hip height a meter in front of me, luckily I was able to grab sparky and shut it down manually as it was starting to go up out of control, presumably getting ready to perform a fly away.

Go back to .15 is my advice (also seems to be the official advise from DJI too if experiencing those problems).
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
6,730
Messages
56,685
Members
10,312
Latest member
jdi