Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Spot metering in auto for Dawn & Dusk?

Smoghog

Join
Jul 26, 2018
Hey, I'm still pretty new with my spark, but I'm having trouble with auto mode when taking stills around dawn and dusk. If even a little bit of the horizon is in the shot, the whole image wants to goes dark. I have to aim lower than I like to get it to focus enough on the land and scenery to brighten up. Is there any kind of spot metering mode that I can use to keep the camera on auto but use the center of the frame for light balance?

About the close you can do is to leave it in Auto and program one of two Function buttons on the remote to AE LOCK and lock the image at whatever level you are comfortable with as you slowly tilt / pan from dark to light.

Reactions: Smoghog
I like that idea! I hadn't thought of that, but it's simple enough. I have my camera settings on the right shoulder, I could easily swap it over since I need it more often than the settings menu.

Thank you!

Your welcome. :)

Reactions: Vanuchi
Hey, I'm still pretty new with my spark, but I'm having trouble with auto mode when taking stills around dawn and dusk. If even a little bit of the horizon is in the shot, the whole image wants to goes dark. I have to aim lower than I like to get it to focus enough on the land and scenery to brighten up. Is there any kind of spot metering mode that I can use to keep the camera on auto but use the center of the frame for light balance?
You can also touch your device on the screen at the space you want to meter on, then touch again within the circle to lock the exposure.

I forgot about that one.
Thanks.:)

Reactions: JoostGT3
You could also use Auto Exposure Bracketing Mode (AEB) to combine up to 5 photos when unsure of best exposure setting. The photos are merged to create an HDR image.