Welcome DJI Spark Pilot!
Jump in and join our free Spark community today!

Wifi issue, landed on its own

JackFL

Join
Sep 23, 2019
Loc
Florida
Hi everyone. New Spark pilot and new here. Been flying for about a month now and enjoying it a lot. No issues so far......until yesterday. I fly it over the water a lot while boating but thankfully that wasn't the case yesterday. I was video recording some beach footage, flew it out about 200 feet, maybe less and it suddenly started landing on its won. I noticed that I might have lost Wifi signal, battery was almost full. I was able to locate it, thankfully I was nearby at the beach and not flying over water. I'm surprised I lost wifi, it was a residential area on an island. My question is......shouldn't the Spark fly back to me when it lost signal instead of just landing all of the sudden on its own? I'm still learning so your help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I read wifi stuff like this and fly aways too before I bought the Spark and never even tried it on wifi..I bought a cable for between the controller and ipad first. I think it should have come home as long as the Home Point was updated. I have a cable for the Mavic too.

Check the available channels and connect to an “empty channel” before you fly. This video will explain that.

Flying on a channel with little to no interference will improve your connection and range.

I read wifi stuff like this and fly aways too before I bought the Spark and never even tried it on wifi..I bought a cable for between the controller and ipad first. I think it should have come home as long as the Home Point was updated. I have a cable for the Mavic too.

The spark connection itself is WiFi from controller to the drone. That’s how it communicates back and fourth. I rarely use the otg cable and regularly fly 2000+ feet out. The cable only makes the video transmission signal slightly better that’s it. Has nothing to do with range.

Last edited: